Pierrot the Clown

June 8, 2011

Andy Warhole

Andy Warhol was one of the most important artists of pop art, which became extremely popular in the second half of the twentieth century. Though he is best remembered for his paintings of Campbell’s soup cans, he also created hundreds of other works including commercial advertisements and films.
 

Awesome Facts About Andy:

1. His original name was andrew warhola.
2. Andy was shot by Valerie Solanas. At the time she was she was 29 and was the founder of S.C.U.M. (Society for Cutting Up Men). She had put an ad for her organization in a local newspaper. After reading the ad, he thought it was a joke and immediately hired her for one of his films. He thought she’d be perfect for his film entitled, “I, a Man.” Valeria was not prepared to do the film for nothing. She wanted something in return for efforts. She wanted Andy to make a movie from a script she had written. When Andy declined, she shot him, firing two billets into his chest.
 She was one of many who felt that Warhol was abusive and controlling (and she wasn’t wrong there). She thought that he deserved to die. Warhol was at one point pronounced dead, but was revived and slowly recovered. Some called him a matyr, and others felt he got what he deserved. He recovered and lived till 1987.
3. While in high school, Andy Warhol became ill with St. Vitus’ disease, which is believed to be a complication of scarlet fever. The disease left him in bed to draw and do art. Warhol later on referred to this his ‘first nervous breakdown.’
4. Andy became a life long hypochondriac, with a great fear of hospitals and medical doctors as an adult. He ended up dying in the hospital from a complications of a routine operation.
5. Andy Warhol passed-away at the age of 58 in New York City at 6:32 a.m., on February 22, 1987. Warhol had been recovering from routine gallbladder surgery when he suddenly died in his sleep from a heart attack. he was buried beside his mother and father.
6. Warhol’s first film was ‘sleep’. It was a six-hour movie of a man sleeping. Most of his movies were like ‘Sleep’ in that they were plotless, boring, and extremely LONG.
  

Andy Warhol Quotes:

They always say time changes things, but you actually have to change them yourself.

Andy Warhol

An artist is somebody who produces things that people don’t need to have.
Andy Warhol

Isn’t life a series of images that change as they repeat themselves?
Andy Warhol

Before I was shot, I always thought that I was more half-there than all-there – I always suspected that I was watching TV instead of living life. Right when I was being shot and ever since, I knew that I was watching television.
Being born is like being kidnapped. And then sold into slavery.
Andy Warhol

Don’t pay any attention to what they write about you. Just measure it in inches.
Andy Warhol

During the 1960s, I think, people forgot what emotions were supposed to be. And I don’t think they’ve ever remembered.
Andy Warhol

Everyone will be famous for 15 minutes.
Andy Warhol

I am a deeply superficial person.
Andy Warhol

I had a lot of dates but I decided to stay home and dye my eyebrows.
Andy Warhol

I like boring things.
Andy Warhol

I love Los Angeles. I love Hollywood. They’re beautiful. Everybody’s plastic, but I love plastic. I want to be plastic.
Andy Warhol

I never think that people die. They just go to department stores.
Andy Warhol

I never understood why when you died, you didn’t just vanish, everything could just keep going on the way it was only you just wouldn’t be there. I always thought I’d like my own tombstone to be blank. No epitaph, and no name. Well, actually, I’d like it to say ‘figment.’
Andy Warhol

I suppose I have a really loose interpretation of “work,” because I think that just being alive is so much work at something you don’t always want to do. The machinery is always going. Even when you sleep.
Andy Warhol

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

